The SNOWY is almost here…

Check out a couple of our SNOWY posters for this year…


Mark your calendars, the 2018 SNOWY is coming soon!

Get ready competitors, the 2018 SNOWY is coming soon!

Mark your calendars for the June long weekend…9-11 June 2018.

This will be the 31st CJ SNOWY McAlister Longboarding festival.

We encourage you to enter and to encourage your friends to join us as well.

More information coming soon. Questions, let us know.

We look forward to seeing you surfing in June!

Another successful SNOWY!

Photo of Tully White

mxmsurfphoto 1

This incredible image is from the talented @mxmsurfphoto. Check out more stunning images from the SNOWY here

Below are the final heats and placements from winner to the finalists (ranked from 2-6).

Thank you again for participating, both sponsors and competitors, and we will see you again next year! Mark your calendars 9-11 June 2018:)

The Cunningham’s Open Men’s division
Winner: Nic Jones

Lawrence Harkness
Dean Bevan
Declan Wyton
Christian Pimm
Blake King

The Professional Salon Suppliers Open Women’s division

Winner: Kirra Seale

Sam Walker
Tully White
Maddie Ross
Vivienne Cresswell
Ivana Macdonald

The Four Elements’ Open Juniors division
Winner: Jackson Detmold

Tully White
Jonah Putaansuu
Hunter Riddle
Will Grienke
Asher Jagger

The Okanui Open Log division
Winner: Christian Pimm

Jayce Pioli
Nic Jones
Lawrence Harkness
Max Weston
Cam Gray

The Four Elements Junior Log division
Winner: Keyo Rhodes

Jack Perkins
Gus O’Malley
Jackson Detmold
Lachie Meaks
Jonah Putaansuu

The Bennett Surfboards Over 50 Log division

Winner: Lynden Riley

Paul O’Grady
Tim Oliver
Simon Smith
Sam Mrkic
Peter English

The Maui Jim Old Mal division

Winner: Lawrence Harkness

Cam Gray
Jayce Pioli
Dave Chaney
Tom Bennett
James Wells


Winner: Tom Oliver

Michael Tapper
Jason Hogg
Michael Bullivant
Curtis Wright
Phil Roxburgh

The Adrenalin Over 35s division

Winner: Christian Pimm

Dean Bevan
Jason Livingston
Cam Gray
Sean Dry
Manuel Talbert

The Adrenalin Over 45s division

Winner: Jason Livingston

Sean Dry
John Fraser
David Witt
Rob Smith
Manuel Talbert

The Captain Sip Sop’s Over 55s division
Winner: Paul O’Grady

John Fraser
Wayne Dive
Lynden Riley
Simon Smith
Peter English


The 2017 Snowy is coming!!

The weather is getting colder so you know what’s coming and you’re going to need a steamer! The Snowy McAlister, will be held this year on the June long weekend 10th – 12th June at Manly Beach. The weekend will be a feast of surfing with heats starting at 7am Saturday the 10th June, culminating in the finals on Monday the 12th.

Divisions this year:

-Open Men’s
-Open Log
-Open Women’s
-Old Mal
-Juniors (Under 18)
-Junior Log (Under 18)
-Over 35
-Over 45
-Over 55
-Over 50 Log

Make sure you get your entries in early as divisions fill up fast. Keep an eye on this site for updates and info about the upcoming Snowy and associated events. The competitor list will be up soon with weekly updates.

Sprout Daily Covers The 50th Anniversary Gala

sprout daily 50th graphic

Sprout Daily has run a timely blog article, documenting the 50th anniversary of the World Surfing Championships at Manly Beach, and the impact those trials had which reached far beyond Manly Beach. Click HERE to read his comment piece. His coverage also includes details of our anniversary gala event, being held on the opening night of the Snowy. Click HERE for his coverage of the gala ball.

A big thanks to Murray and the Sprout Daily crew for their support, and their continued documenting of dawn life at Manly. Murray has been down at Manly early, catching Manly Mal Club members and Snowy competitors Cam Gray, Jack Entwistle and Ivana Stepankova busily rehearsing for their heats, photos of which appear in his daily emails.

50th Anniversary 1964 World Championships


We’re not only hosting the Snowy this year: 2014 marks the 50th anniversary of the first World Titles held at Manly Beach. And we’re putting on a very unique night to celebrate.

Our opening night gala ball will be held in the Main Ballroom of the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, 55 North Steyne, Manly on 7th June 2014. Special guests will include Midget Farrelly, Mick Dooley, Nick Carroll as MC and others. 

The night will include canapés, speeches, memorabilia displays and a special showing of heritage films including footage of the World Titles.

Tickets will cost $50 per person. There are two ways to order:

1. Purchase online on this link! Submit your Snowy contest entry at the same time, or just purchase event tickets; both choices are now available.

2. Alternatively, please send a $50 cheque made out to Manly Malibu Boardriders Club. Please send it to:

Manly Malibu Boardriders Club
Collaroy NSW 2097

Please make sure you include your email address as well as your full name and postal address so that we can confirm your ticket payment by email.